AIDS Research Advisory Committee

Chairperson

Cara Wilson, M.D. (19)
(NIAID Council AIDS Subcommittee)
University of Colorado at Denver
Medicine – Infectious Diseases, Mail Stop #B168
Building P15 Research 2, Room #11011
12700 E. 19th Ave (P.O. Box 6511)
Aurora, CO 80045
Phone: 303-724-4926
Email: cara.wilson@ucdenver.edu

Members

Paul Bieniasz, Ph.D. (20)
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute 
Head, Laboratory of Retrovirology
The Rockefeller University
1230 York Avenue, PO Box 107 
New York 10065
Phone: (212) 448 5070 
Email: Paul.Bieniasz@rockefeller.edu  

Amanda Castel, M.D., M.P.H. (18)  
(NIAID Council AIDS Subcommittee)  
School of Public Health and Health Services 
The George Washington University 
950 New Hampshire Ave., 504-Floor 5
Washington, DC 20052 
Phone: 202-994-8325 
Email: acastel@gwu.edu  

Richard Chaisson, M.D. (20)
(NIAID Advisory Council Representative to OARAC) 
Professor of Medicine
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
1550 Orleans Street, 1M.08
Baltimore, Maryland 21231
Phone: (410) 955-1755
Email:rchaiss@jhmi.edu 

Kenneth Freedberg, M.D., M.Sc (22)
Director, Program in HIV Epidemiology and Outcomes Research
Professor of Medicine
Harvard Medical School 
100 Cambridge St., Suite 1600
Boston, MA 02114
Phone: 617-724-3341
kfreedberg@mgh.harvard.edu  

John Guatelli, M.D. (18)  
(NIAID Council AIDS Subcommittee)  
Professor of Medicine 
University of California, San Diego
9500 Gilman Drive, #0679 
La Jolla, CA 92093 
Phone: 619-552-7439
Email: jguatelli@ucsd.edu  

Sally Hodder, M.D. (19) 
(NIAID Council AIDS Subcommittee) 
Director, West Virginia Clinical and Translational Science Institute 
P.O. Box 9102 : HSC 2245D
Morgantown, WV 26506
Phone: 304-581-1842 
Fax: 304-293-4200 
Email: slhodder@hsc.wvu.edu  

Elizabeth J. McFarland, M.D. (20)
Professor of Pediatrics-Infectious Diseases 
University of Colorado Anschutz Medical Campus
13123 E. 16th Ave., Box 55
Aurora, CO 80045
Phone: 720-777-6981
Email: betsy.mcfarland@ucdenver.edu 

Kimberly Y. Smith, M.D., M.P.H. (21) 
Vice President and Head, Global Research and Medical Strategy 
ViiV Healthcare 
5 Moore Drive
Research Triangle Park, NC 27709 
Phone: 919-315-9825
Email: Kimberly.y.smith@viivhealthcare.com  

Ex-Officio Members

Victoria J. Davey, Ph.D., M.P.H. 
Associate Chief Research and Development Officer for Epidemiology and Public Health 
Office of Research and Development 
Veterans Health Administration 
U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs 
810 Vermont Ave, NW (10P9) 
Washington, DC 20420 
Phone: 202-461-1008
Email: Victoria.davey@va.gov 

Maureen Goodenow, Ph.D.  
Director, Office of AIDS Research/NIH
5601 Fishers Lane, Rm 2F42, MSC 9840 
Rockville, MD 20892
Phone: 301.496.0357
Email: maureen.goodenow@nih.gov  

Henry Masur, M.D.  
Chief, Critical Care Medicine 
NIH Clinical Center, Building 10, Room 7D-43 
Bethesda, MD 20892
Phone: 301-496-9320
Email: hmasur@cc.nih.gov 

Eugene McCray, M.D. 
Director 
Division of HIV/AIDS Prevention, NCHHSTP 
Centers for Disease Control and Prevention 
1600 Clifton Road, N.E., Mailstop D-21
Atlanta, GA 30333 
Phone: 404-639-0900 
Email: ecm1@cdc.gov  

Melissa Turner, MSW, LICSW, MPA 
Social Work Coordinator for National Programs in HIV Clinical Research 
Veterans Affairs Medical Center 
50 Irving Street, NW (151B)
Washington, DC 20422
Phone: 202-745-8695 
Email: Melissa.Turner@va.gov  

Office of AIDS Research Advisory Committee Liaison

Roy M. Gulick, M.D.
Professor
Department of Medicine
Chief, Division of Infectious Diseases
Weill Medical College of Cornell University
New York, NY​​
Phone: 212-746-6320
Email: rgulick@med.cornell.edu